Henrik Stenson wins his 2nd Race to Dubai title

 20 Nov 2016 - 17:27

Henrik Stenson wins his 2nd Race to Dubai title
Henrik Stenson of Sweden poses with his trophy after winning the Race to Dubai at the end of the DP World Tour Championship at Jumeirah Golf Estates in Dubai, on November 20, 2016. AFP / Karim Sahib


DUBAI, United Arab Emirates: Henrik Stenson won the Race to Dubai title for the second time in four years on Sunday, and Matthew Fitzpatrick claimed the biggest victory of his short career at the World Tour Championship.

Fourth-ranked Stenson shot a 7-under 65 in the final round in Dubai to stay ahead of his rivals in the year-long race. The Swede earned a bonus of $1.25 million as the European Tour's top player.

The 40-year-old Stenson, who also won the Race to Dubai in 2013, ended Sunday on 12-under 276 in a four-way tie for ninth, which included Rory McIlroy (65).

Stenson's closest rival in the race this year, Masters champion Danny Willett, remained second after finishing tied for 50th in the tournament.

Fitzpatrick, who earned his card exactly two years ago, shot a final-round 67 to finish on 17-under 271. The 22-year-old Englishman finished one ahead of compatriot Tyrrell Hatton (68), who had a bogey on the final hole.

South African Charl Schwartzel (67) was two shots further behind in third.

Related News

arrow Read More
Golf: Fitzpatrick wins World Tour Championship

 20 Nov 2016 - 15:49

England's Matthew Fitzpatrick birdied the last hole to beat compatriot Tyrrell Hatton by one shot to win the $8 million DP World Tour Championship on Sunday.