Al Misnad thrash Youngsters Club to win Division A title

 10 Jan 2017 - 4:28

Al Misnad thrash Youngsters Club to win Division A title
Galfar Al Misnad captain receiving the trophy after the final of QCA Tournament Division A title at Asian Town Cricket Stadium in Doha recently.

The Peninsula

Galfar Al Misnad blew away the challenge of Al Feroz Youngsters Club and won the QCA Tournament Division A title with a nine-wicket victory in the final at the Asian Town Cricket Stadium in Doha.
Galfar Al Misnad’s bowlers reduced the title clash to one-way traffic as they shot out the rivals for just 99 runs in 31 overs, 19 overs before the stipulated batting limit.
Gayan of the winning team was declared the Player-of-the -Final for his three wickets for 19 runs in seven overs.
Gayan and Umar led the debacle of Al Feroz Youngsters with the latter also grabbing three wickets.
Kamran Khan maintained the pressure and scalped two, while Izzeth and Taimoor picked one wicket.
Harris was the only Al Feroz Youngsters player to resist Galfar Al Misnad’s strong bowling and made 31 runs. Bilal (15) and Imran Ashraf (13) were other batsmen to reach double figures.
Galfar Al Misnad secured the target in 24 overs at the expense of Kamran Khan (4).
Iranga and Zaheeruddin were then involved in an undefeated second-wicket stand.
Iranga hammered a fine 54 not out with half a dozen boundaries. Zaheeruddin smashed four hits to the fence during an unbeaten 39. Noman got the only wicket to fall.
Ali Akbar Farabi, Manager, Ticketing Operations – Qatar, Qatar Airways, was the chief guest at the prize distribution and gave away the trophies. Also Qatar Cricket
Association General Secretary Mazoor Ahmad, Satish G Pillai, Executive Director, Galfar Al Misnad, and Amin Ul Islam (QCA) were present on the occasion.
Brief scores
Galfar Al Misnad Team beat Al Feroz Youngsters by nine wickets
Al Feroz Youngsters Team: 99 all out in in 31 overs (Harris 31, Imran Ashraf 13, Bilal 15, Qalandar 7, Nadeem 7, Gayan 3 wkts, Izzeth 1 wkt, Kamran Khan 2 wkts, Taimoor 1 wkt, Umar 3 wkts)
Galfar Al Misnad: 100 for one in 24 overs (Iranga 54 , Zaheeruddin 39, Noman Sarwar 1 wkt)
Man-of-the-Match: Gayan of Galfar Al Misnad (3 wickets)