Qatar’s Majed enters round of 64

June 24, 2014 - 2:28:28 pm
World number one and defending champion Thorsten Hohmann of Germany in action during his match against Tanaka Masaaki of Japan at Al Sadd Stadium in Doha yesterday. Hohmann won 9-8.


Doha:  Last year’s runners-up Antonio Gabica, assistant coach at Qatar Billiards and Snooker Federation (QBSF), along with Qatar’s Waleed Majed booked a place in round 64 of the 2014 World 9-ball Championship (W9BC) here at Al Sadd Stadium.

Yesterday Gabica, who lost to world number one Thorsten Hohmann of Germany in the final, defeated Michel Bartol of Croatia 9-3 in the round of 128 to register his second win at the group stage of the tournament and qualify for the next stage of the tournament.

Qatar’s Majed also advanced to the next round. Majed kept his cool to set aside the challenge of Fabio Petroni of Italy 9-6 to pick up his second group win on day three of the $200,000 World Pool-Billiard Association (WPA) event.

Joining the Qatar-based duo were several former champions and defending champion Hohmann.

The German was stretched to the limit by Tanaka Masaaki of Japan, but came out of the tight spot with a fighting 9-8 win.

Luck smiled on another Japanese Tohru Kuribayashi. Kuribayashi warded off the challenge of Jalal Yousef of Venezuela.

Some of the past winners, who will get a chance to have a shot at the top prize, after winning their group matches, include Shane Van Boening of United States, Darren Appleton of England, Mika Immonen of Finland and Dennis Orcollo of the Philippines.

The winner of the 2014 World 9-ball Championship will receive $30,000. The runner-up will receive $15,000. The total prize fund for the tournament is  $200,000.

This is the fifth straight year that the Qatar is hosting the W9BC.  The players are competing in 16 groups of eight playing a race-to-9, alternate break, double elimination format.

Four players from each group will qualify for the round of 64.

Round 64 matches will be race to 11, alternate break. The final, which takes place on June 27, will be a race to 13.

The players are competing on Wiraka New Model Tables with Simonis 860 Cloth, Electric Blue Color and using Aramith Super Pro TV Balls.

The Qatar Billiard and Snooker Federation, which is hosting and organizing the World 9-ball Championshipis providing free live streaming on its website on its website,

Fans can interact with WPA through the official Facebook Page for the event at link and on Twitter @poolwpa.The Peninsula

World 9-ball Championship

Results Day 3

Winners advance to round of 64. Losers get one more chance tomorrow

Group 1: Thorsten Hohmann (GER) bt Tanaka Masaaki (JPN) 9-8; Cheng Yu Hsuan (TPE) bt Marco Teutscher (NED) 9-5

Group 2: Tohru Kuribayashi (JPN) bt Jalal Yousef (VEN) 9-6; Dang Jing Hu (CHN) bt Hsu Kai Lun (TPE) 9-7

Group 3: Shane Van Boening (USA) bt Daniele Corrieri (ITA) 9-5; Fu Che Wei (TPE) bt Abdul R. Al Ammar (KSA) 9-0

Group 4: Nick Van Den Berg (NED) bt Mehdi Rasekhi (IRI) 9-7; Antonio Gabica (PHL) bt Michel Bartol (CRO) 9-3

Group 5: Mika Immonen (FIN) bt Seung Woo Ryu (KOR) 9-7; Waleed Majed (QAT) bt Fabio Petroni (ITA) 9-6

Group 6: Ralf Souquet (GER) bt 9-3 Abdullah Al Yusef (KUW); Niels Feijen (NED) bt 9-6 Warren Kiamco (PHL)

Group 7: Dennis Orcollo (PHL) bt Ko Ping Chung(TPE) 9-6; Jayson Shaw (GBR) bt Ivo Aarts (NED) 9-7

Group 8: Hijikata Kayato (JPN) bt Roman Hybler (CZE) 9-4; Carlo Biado (PHL) bt Tom Storm (SWE) 9-7

Group 9: Bruno Muratore (ITA) bt Karl Boyes (GBR) 9-4; Raymund Faraon (PHL) bt Young Hwa Jeong (KOR) 9-7

Group 10: Wu Jiaqing (CHN) bt Elvis Calasang (PHL) 9-7; Konstantin Stepanov (RUS) bt Mieszko Fortunski (POL) 9-4

Group 11: Wang Can (CHN) bt 9-1 Aloysius Yapp (SIN); Huidji See (NED) bt  -8 Andreas Gerwin (SWE)

Group 12: Mario He (AUT) bt Ali Obaidly (QAT) 9-1; Nick Ekonomopoulos (GRE) bt Nguyen Anh Tuan (VIE) 9-5

Group 13: Darren Appleton (GBR) bt Lin Cheng Chieh (TPE) 9-8; Johann Chua (PHL) bt Lo Li Wen (TPE) 9-6

Group 14: Jeffrey De Luna (PHL) bt Israel Rota (PHL) 9-3; Ko Pin Yi (TPE) bt Salaheldeen Al Rimawi (UAE) 9-1

Group 15: Radoslaw Babica (POL) bt Alex Pagulayan (CAN) 9-6; Li He Wen (CHN) bt Omar Al Shaheen (KUW) 9-8

Group 16: Oliver Ortmann (GER) bt Omran Salem (UAE) 9-6; Elmer D. Haya (PHL) bt Artem Koshovyi (UKR) 9-8

Venue: Al Sadd Stadium, action begins at 2pm