Sailing: Turkey’s Yasar takes lead in Doha

December 29, 2013 - 11:10:25 am

Doha:  Rasim Yasar of Turkey warded off tough competition from a host of sailors to surge to an early lead at the Optimist Cup of Qatar Sailing and Rowing Federation (QSRF).

Yesterday at the end of the first day of the six-day event, the Turkish teenager collected the least number of penalties to finish with a net score of two points at the end of the two races of the 12-race event.

Closely following the leader is Marsha Shahrin of Singapore in second position with nine points. She is followed by Walter Wahlroos of Finland with ten points.

Around 44 sailors, born in 1998 or after, from 14 countries are taking part in the championship.

Sailors from Algeria, the Czech Republic, Egypt, Spain, Finland, Germany, India, Lebanon, the Netherlands, Singapore, Switzerland, Turkey, UAE, besides Qatar are competing in the event which will end on January 2.

The first three place winners will get cash prizes.

The overall champion in the boy’s section will get QR4000, while the second and third place winners will receive QR3000 and QR2000, respectively.

The overall Optimist Girls winner will get QR4000, the runner-up QR3000 and the third place finisher QR2000.

Prize money will also be awarded to podium winners in the Optimist Team Racing event. The overall champion team will be richer by QR2000, while QR1500 and QR1000 will be given away to the second and third place winners.

The organisers said they have lined up several other prizes like I pad, Tablets, and Smart Phone will be awarded through lucky draws.  

Provision have also been made to reward the youngest sailors in both boy’s and girl’s category.

Qatar have fielded 14 sailors in the competition including one female competitor in Isra Al Sulaiti.

The Qatar teams consists of  Ghanim Al Sewaidi, Jassim Al Mohannadi, Kheireddine Bouchema, Abdurahman Al Nasr, Zaid Awamleh, Yacine Benzarti, Mohammed Jalil, Ali Al Sharshani, Ali Al Mahroon, Mohammad Al Ashrshani, Mohsen Al Sharshani, Abdullah Al Sharshani, Rashed Telfat and Isra Al Sulaiti.

The Peninsula

comments powered by Disqus