Akmal, Malik in Pakistan’s initial Twenty20 squad

January 21, 2014 - 7:25:08 am

Australian bowler Mitchell Johnson screams out an appeal on the third day of the fourth Ashes cricket Test match against England in Melbourne. Johnson won the Allan Border Medal for Australia’s player of the year.  

LAHORE, Pakistan: Wicket-keeper batsman Kamran Akmal and former captain Shoaib Malik were yesterday named in Pakistan’s preliminary 30-man squad for the World Twenty20 to be held in Bangladesh.

Malik led Pakistan to runners-up spot in the inaugural World Twenty20 in South Africa in 2007 and was part of Pakistan’s Twenty20 squad to South Africa last year but was sent back home after suffering a finger injury.

Kamran had not been selected since being omitted from the one-day squad which lost all three matches in the Champions Trophy in England in June last year.

Allrounder Abdul Razzaq failed to find a place in the initial squad after being sent home from the South Africa tour due to hamstring injury last year.

Pakistan won the 2009 event held in England.

Preliminary squad: Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmad Shahzad, Sharjeel Khan, Shahzaib Hasan, Nasir Jamshaid, Khurram Manzoor, Shoaib Malik, Sohaib Maqsood, Umar Akmal, Harris Sohail, Yasir Arafat, Yasir Shah, Hammad Azam, Kamran Akmal, Shahid Khan Afridi, Zohaib Ahmed, Sohail Tanveer, Mohammad Irfan, Umar Gul, Junaid Khan, Bilawal Bhatti, Anwar Ali, Asad Ali, Ehsan Adil, Mohammad Talha, Saeed Ajmal, Zulfiqar Babar, Raza Hasan, Abdul Rehman, Sarfaraz Ahmed.