Khan’s party resigns from the lower house

August 23, 2014 - 12:00:00 am

ISLAMABAD: Lawmakers of the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) submitted their resignations from the National Assembly yesterday, as the party continues to lead a sit-in against Sharif’s government.

PTI leaders Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Arif Alvi and Shireen Mazari submitted the resignations of all 34 MNAs to the NA speaker’s office, including that of Chairman Imran Khan.

The resignations come as the PTI has been engaged in protests and sit-ins against the Nawaz government over alleged rigging in the 2013 general elections. 

The party had earlier decided to resign from all assemblies except the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly.

The PTI, still young in comparison, had managed to gather enough seats to become the third largest party in the National Assembly in the 2013 polls.