PTI lawmakers form separate bloc

April 03, 2014 - 7:20:09 am

PESHAWAR: Fourteen members of the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf in the KP assembly have raised a banner of revolt against policies of their own government in the province and formed a separate faction.

Qurban Ali Khan, the self-declared “focal person” of the group, has claimed that a few other lawmakers are likely to join the ranks of dissidents. He declined to disclose the lawmakers’ names.

“At present 14 lawmakers have formed a bloc and some others will join them in two or three days,” he said at the MPAs Hostel  yesterday.

He was accompanied by Javed Nasim from Peshawar, who a few months ago had submitted an application to the speaker seeking a separate seat in the assembly.

Without naming Chief Minister Pervez Khattak or any other senior leader of the party, Qurban Ali Khan said that incapable people had been inducted into the cabinet and accused them of being involved in irregularities.

“Some people are trying to hijack the vision of Chairman Imran Khan,” he said and accused the party’s provincial leadership of having deviated from the PTI’s manifesto.

He severely criticised the policies of the KP government and said the party chief had been kept in the dark and he might not be aware of wrongdoings of provincial leaders.

He claimed that he had never tried to become a minister and his associates also were not agitating for power and position. 

“We did not join the PTI to become ministers or advisers. Our objective is to protect the party’s interest.”

Qurban Ali Khan, who had left the PPP before last year’s general elections, was elected to the assembly on a PTI ticket from PK-16 Nowshera.