Lawmakers switching loyalties

December 04, 2012 - 10:05:33 am

PESHAWAR: Many members of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly of Pakistan have switched their loyalties and joined other political parties in the hope of getting tickets for contesting the upcoming general election.

Eight MPAs out of the 124 members of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly have quit the parties that had awarded them tickets for contesting the 2008 general election, but none of the parties have moved the Election Commission for their disqualification.

Two more legislators, including a woman, are likely to quit their respective parties in the near future, reliable sources said.

Former provincial minister and provincial president of the erstwhile Pakistan People’s Party-Sherpao, Pervez Khan Khattak was the first lawmaker who had contested the polls on the ticket of his party, but he quit it for gaining a berth in the provincial cabinet.

However, his association with the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) didn’t last for long and he later joined the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI).

Wajeehuz Zaman, who was elected to the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly for second consecutive term on ticket of the Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q), joined the Pakistan Muslim League-Likeminded when Salim Saifullah Khan and other Leaguers broke away and formed their own faction.