OIC ministers sign charter for the Islamic Organization for Food Security

December 11, 2013 - 11:02:23 am

CONAKRY: Nineteen Member States of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) have acceded to the Statute of the Islamic Organization for Food Security, the newest specialized institution of the OIC.

The signing of the Statute took place during 40th Session of the Council of Foreign Ministers being held in Conakry, Guinea on 9-11December 2013, reported the UAE news agency WAM.

The OIC member states, which are now the founding members of the new OIC executive institution for coordinating and implementing OIC policies on agriculture, rural development and food security, are: Afghanistan, Burkina Faso, Djibouti,

Gambia, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Iran, Kazakhstan, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Palestine, Sierra Leon, Somalia, Sudan, Suriname, Turkey, Uganda, and Union of Comoros.

The IOFS aims at providing expertise and technical know-how on the various aspects of sustainable agriculture, rural development, and food security as well as mobilizing financial resources for developing agriculture and enhancing food security in OIC member states.

It will be headquartered in Astana, Kazakhstan.

The Status provides that it shall be applied provisionally upon signing by at least ten OIC member states and definitively enter into force when ten member states submit their instrument of ratification. (QNA)

comments powered by Disqus