Modi tsunami in Uttar Pradesh

May 17, 2014 - 1:21:28 am

Lucknow: The Modi tsunami yesterday changed the contours of politics in Uttar Pradesh as the BJP and its allies won 73 out of the state’s 80 parliamentary constituencies while all regional players were pushed to the sidelines or even wiped out, while the Congress only retained its pocket boroughs.

It was BJP all the way in the state with a stellar performance as it lapped up 71 seats on its own, while two other seats — Mirzapur and Pratapgarh - were won by alliance partner Apna Dal. This is BJP’s highest ever tally in the state’s electoral history, much higher than the previous best of 57 in 1998. Yesterday’s victory is more significant since the 1998 win came in unified UP when the state sent 85 lawmakers to the Lok Sabha. 

Party president Rajnath Singh, who won from Lucknow - long held by former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee - credited state unit president Laxmikant Bajpayi as well as national general secretary and Modi aide Amit Shah for ensuring the massive balloting in favour of party candidates.

Major winners for the BJP in the electorally crucial state included Murli Manohar Joshi (Kanpur), Modi (Varanasi), Rajnath Singh (Lucknow), Gen. (retd.) VK Singh (Ghaziabad), Uma Bharti (Jhansi), Satyapal Singh (Baghpat), Hukum Singh (Kairana) and Sakshi Maharaj from Unnao. Former chief minister Kalyan Singh’s son Rajveer Singh has also won from Etah. IANS