AAP expels two leaders for fraud

March 22, 2014 - 6:27:50 am

New Delhi: Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) yesterday expelled two leaders as they allegedly tried to provide party tickets for monetary consideration.

AAP leader Arvind Kejriwal appealed to ticket seekers that they should not give money to any party member who has assured them of providing tickets.

“Two members, Aruna Singh (convener of Awadh zone) and Ashok Kumar (treasurer, Hardoi) have been suspended from the party membership as they were found to be indulging in providing party tickets on the pretext of money,” Kejriwal told mediapersons.

The AAP leader also appealed to the media to inform the party about any such activity and conduct sting operations.

Kejriwal said action was taken on the basis of proper evidences against the two. If anyone is found indulging in such activities, that person will be suspended within a day.

He said he would be visiting Uttar Pradesh’s Varanasi from March 25 to 26. He would ask people there about his candidature against Bharatiya Janata Party’s prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi from the same seat for the Lok Sabha elections.

He also said that after Varanasi, he would focus on Delhi and conduct road shows in all the seven constituencies of the national capital.

Aam Aadmi Party, meanwhile,  released its ninth list of 30 candidates for six States for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

The party declared candidates for two seats each in Assam and Maharashtra, three each from West Bengal, Gujarat and Chattisgarh, one each from Odisha and Kerela and 15 seats from Karnataka. With this list, the total number of candidates declared by the party has gone up to 317.

From Hassan, a seat represented by former Prime Minister and Janta Dal (Secular) supremo H D Deve Gowda, the party has fielded Santhosh Mohan Gowda.

From Bellary, a seat represented by BJP’s Shanha, J Shivakumar Giriyappa Malagi will be in the fray on AAP ticket.

Saraswati Nanda will take on sitting MP Kalikesh Singh Deo from Bolangir in Odisha.