Sonia, Rahul in Congress’ first list of 194

March 09, 2014 - 12:32:41 am

New Delhi: Congress president Sonia Gandhi (Rae Bareli) and vice-president Rahul Gandhi (Amethi) figure in the first list of party candidates for the Lok Sabha elections released here yesterday.

Apart from the two Gandhis, the list has 192 more names including Unique Identification Authority of India Chairman and Infosys co-founder Nandan Nilekani, who has been fielded from Bangalore South, and cricketer Mohammad Kaif has been fielded from Phulpur in Uttar Pradesh.

Former prime minister Atal Behari Vajpayee’s niece Karuna Shukla, who joined the Congress last month, has been fielded from Bilaspur in Chhattisgarh.

Among the sitting union ministers fielded: Sushil Kumar Shinde will contest from Solapur (Maharashtra), Kamal Nath from his traditional Chhindwara (Madhya Pradesh), Mallikarjun Kharge from Gulbarga (Karnataka), Girija Vyas from Chittorgarh, Jyotiraditya Scindia from Gwalior), R P N Singh from Kushi Nagar in Uttar Pradesh and Preneet Kaur from Patiala.

Other prominent names in the list include Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar (Sasaram - Bihar), Naveen Jindal (Kurukshetra), Mukul Wasnik (Ramtek - Maharashtra), Vilas Muttemwar (Nagpur), Meenakshi Natarajan (Mandsour) and Amita Singh (Sultanpur - UP).

Meanwhile, the BJP released its second list of Lok Sabha candidates, fielding former Karnataka chief minister B S Yeddyurappa from Shimoga in the state and Rajya Sabha MP Chandan Mitra from Hooghly in West Bengal.

The BJP announced 52 candidates in its second list including five from Assam, 20 from Karnataka, three from Kerala, five from Odisha, two from Tripura and 17 from West Bengal.

Apart from Yeddyurappa, party candidates from Karnataka include former chief minister D V Sadananda Gowda from Bangalore North and party general secretary Ananth Kumar from Bangalore South. The list of 52 candidates includes many sitting MPs, former ministers and party office bearers.

LJP candidates

LJP chief Ram Vilas Paswan and his son Chirag Paswan figure in the first list of party candidates who will contest the Lok Sabha election in Bihar. Ram Vilas Paswan will contest from Hajipur and his son from Jamui. The senior Paswan’s brother, Ramchander Paswan, will be fielded in Samastipur.

“I will contest from Hajipur where I lost in the last Lok Sabha election,” Ram Vilas Paswan told the media. The LJP has fielded Rama Singh, a former legislator with a criminal past, in Vaishali and Veena Singh, wife of Suraj Bhan Singh, who too faces criminal charges, in Munger.

Party spokesperson Satyanand Sharma will be the candidate in Nalanda. The LJP joined the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance last month, after a gap of 12 years.