BJP creates history in Rajasthan, wins 162 seats

December 09, 2013 - 11:19:32 am
BJP chief minister candidate Vasundhara Raje with supporters in Jaipur, after leading the party to a huge win in the assembly elections in Rajasthan.
Jaipur: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) yesterday returned to power in Rajasthan after five years, winning a record 162 seats and leaving the Congress bruised with just 21 members in the 200-seat legislature.

BJP supporters decorated the state capital with posters and banners and sang and danced to the beat of drums. They also shouted slogans like “Modi-Modi” and “Vasundhara Raje Zindabad”, and burst fire crackers.

This win by the BJP is the best performance among all parties in the history of the state. The previous record was by the Congress, which won 153 seats in the 1998 elections.

The Congress won just 21 seats, the party’s worst performance. Before this election, the party’s lowest tally was in 1977 when it won 41 seats.

Incumbent Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot met Governor Margaret Alva in the evening and submitted his resignation, while state Congress president Chandrabhan, who not only lost from Mandawa constituency but also forfeited his deposit, sent his resignation to party president Sonia Gandhi.

BJP sources said that the party has already started making preparations for the oath-taking ceremony of Vasundhara Raje as the chief minister. “She is likely to take oath in the next four or five days,” a party source said.

“Vasundhara-ji always takes astrological advice before undertaking any good work, so I feel she will consult a pundit before deciding on the date of taking oath,” he added.

Election in one seat, Churu, was countermanded due to the death of Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate Jagdish Meghwal. The poll is now slated for Dec 13.

The BSP won three seats and candidates of the National People’s Party (NPP) were declared elected on four seats.

Prominent BJP leaders who won include chief ministerial candidate Vasundhara Raje and Leader of Opposition Gulab Chand Kataria.

Raje was declared elected from Jhalrapatan constituency. She defeated her nearest rival from the Congress, Meenakshi Chandrawat, by over 60,000 votes.

The biggest win was recorded by Ghanshyam Tiwari of the BJP who defeated his nearest Congress rival in Sanganer constituency by a margin of over 62,000 votes.

Vasundhara Raje, who is also the BJP state president, said: “I was confident that we will win. It is a vote against the Congress party’s poor governance in the state.”IANS
comments powered by Disqus